Tags

,

When I posted my collection of diagonals, one of my photographic mentors posed a new challenge. “It occurred to me to suggest that you also experiment with asymmetrical compositions in your photographs” she said, and sent me one of her photos as inspiration.

 

Fringe lily photographed by Rosemary Barnard

 

 

I can't pass by a good challenge, so I have indeed been experimenting. The experiments have changed the balance and focus in my photos, driven me back to photographing in landscape, and given me the opportunity to post old subject matter in a new guise. In this new mode, shadows and the patterns and textures of sand are highlighted rather than subdued by other subject matter and the part takes over from the whole.

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

