While I was away, I developed blogging friendships with a number of people. One of them is Paula who lives in Zagreb. She is a photographer I admire immensely. I also admire her minimalist approach to blogging – one exquisite photo at a time. She invites fellow-bloggers to join her by posting something special on Thursday, at

http://bopaula.wordpress.com/category/thursdays-special/,

marked by this logo:

 

 

Trawling through my photos, I found this one. As I was walking from my apartment in Dubrovnik to the old city to catch it in its early morning activity, I spotted this imaginative use of an old bath tub as seating in a cafe. It's a fitting photo to begin my relationship with Thursday's special, because Paula was born in Dubrovnik.

It may not be inspirational in quite the sense Paula intended, certainly not to other people. But for me it reflects the “fullness of life and absolute freedom” that I found in my seventieth birthday journey through my travel fears and Eastern Europe.

 

 

http://bopaula.wordpress.com/category/thursdays-special/

 

