Tags

,

 


Every year Bermagui on the south coast of New South Wales hosts Sculpture on the Edge, an outdoor exhibition against the backdrop of Gulaga and the sea. I headed south in perfect weather to ramble round the headland and accustom my camera to the subject matter and palette of home after the very different subject matter and palette of Warsaw.


I was surprised in conversation with a sculptor who was removing his pieces when he said it didn't much matter where his sculpture was placed. For me, position adds so much. I enjoy the opportunity to photograph against sky, grass and sea to capture the shapes and patterns of sculptures, even if this means going supine.

 
Mostly I visit sculpture in galleries where the pieces miss out on revealing the beauties that this outdoor space offers them. Here, you can circumambulate each piece at leisure and catch its different faces.

 
Shadows are another pleasure of sculptures displayed outside, especially at near noon on such a peerless day, although I first encountered this doubled pleasure in Gallery Bodalla with Don Atkinson's nets.
 
 
In the middle of pleasing shapes appeared a powerful figure, reminder of brutalities hard to imagine on this peaceful headland and the dignity with which people bear them.